SilkFair

Our evangelists win big in January – see their jewelry, beads and flowers

Posted on: February 6, 2009

I was so glad to come to work and see this tweet by a member of our amazing community of buyers and sellers:

@Silkfair I heart you guys! You’re so sweet, any time I have a question, ur quick to answer, plus ur just mega cool, big hugs!

Its incredibly humbling to see a website grow beyond the code and the servers and the wiring and become something as rich as a community, a gathering of like-minded talent and a group of people who all want to share and celebrate in each other’s success.

A great example of this is the “Tell & Win” competition – we started it in the middle of December but going in, we didn’t really know how the community would react to it. Essentially, we were asking our community of sellers to promote and evangelize a lot of the other sellers on our platform…. sounds a bit strange doesn’t it?

But this is really the type of things that makes a crowd into a great tribe to be a part of… it’s been incredible watching people from within our platform – who are small business owners, work from home entrepreneurs or hobbyists making crafts, handmade gifts, jewelry and more – take out time to help each other and invite more people to become a part of our family.

So today we’re happy to announce the winners of our first Tell & Win Competition – they are:

Lets take some time out to get to know our winners and see their amazing products!

 

LazyBreeze Jewelry

LazyBreezeJewelry-banner

LazyBreeze (Melissa) is a recent addition to our Silkfair family, and she’s already our big winner in the first month!

She works-from-home making handmade jewelry inspired by both ancient designs as well as modern fashions, and uses materials from antique stores, local bead shops, presents and elsewhere.

Originally from Peurto Rico, she is an anthropology graduate now settled in Florida.

Check out her amazing products – and be sure to contact her for custom requests too

DSCF5047 

1231713770

1231712298

 

Krisybird’s Beads & Things

silkfairbanner

Based in Breckenridge, MN, Krisybird enjoys making jewelry and recycled envelopes and note cards in her free time. She had a booth in a crafter’s mall, but since then has moved to selling her items on Silkfair.

In addition to these, her recent interests include polymer clay and photography.

Check out these great items!

009

charm_bracelets_021

018

 

Silk Road Flowers By Far’ha

sf-banner-775x120-tag

Far’ha has been a seller on our platform pretty much from the start when we launched back in March. She makes beautiful decorative ribbon-flowers that blend together hand-dyed, bias-cut silk ribbons with Czech beads, ombre leaves and other exotic materials and designs inspired from the Silk Road, Arab Trade Routes, Gypsy Trails, Spain and elsewhere.

Check out these beautiful items:

SF6392-_65-V1

Hearts_007

7228-HC-Blushing-26-3

Her products go well with pretty much any type of women’s clothing, and her clients love her work, which is evident from this feedback one of her clients gave her:

August 11, 2008
Dear Far’ha,

I’ve had two performances now of our vigorous folkloric dance (one of them a two-hour gig) and the beautiful pink silk rose you created remains pristine AND it held to my hair the whole time!  You know how nervous I was about it since my hair is long, straight and fine.  But your handiwork held TIGHT!  And of course I had lots of compliments about my stunning hair adornment. Thank you for your creativity and industry.  My Flowers by Far’ha are perfection indeed.

Regards,

Her story of how she got into this work is pretty amazing too – as she recalls on her blog:

The name, “Far’ha” means “Joy!”  It was given to me many years ago by one of my bellydance teachers because he saw my joy when I danced.  I also share this joy when I work with color and fabrics, so I also made nearly all my costumes as I explored the dances of the Silk Road, Arab trade routes, and Gypsy Trails.

Eventually my journey in dance brought me to Spain, and more specifically Jerez, the home of true, gitano flamenco.  When I began performing, I needed a hair flower to coordinate with my costume.

None were to be found in town, so I went to the local ribbonery store, explained my plight and the owner pointed me to a rack of luscious, hand-dyed, bias-cut silk ribbons.  Then, when I found the perfect color, she quickly demonstrated the basic technique for a rose.

So, I went home, and what seemed easy in concept proved to be a challenge!  But the ribbon was so wonderful–and after years of making my own costumes, I figured I could get the hang of this, so one flower lead to another … and another… and another.

…and what does she think of Silkfair? 🙂

SilkFair just implemented the as yet to be name “mini-store widget”.
It is so much more than just a bunch of product photos, but allows people to find out about the seller (Profile); Item descriptions, like a preview of the shop and the seller.

Because my business name was inspired by the Silk Road,what this widget accomplishes conjures up images of a cyber version of the Silk Road traders bringing in their wares to people along their route and displaying them in at their homes and community gathering places.

It is a trunk show!

Let the show begin!  (Now…to find a place to put my “widget”…?)

 

Thank you, our members, evangelists and store owners – you truly are giving life to a virtual Silk Road on the web.

2 Responses to "Our evangelists win big in January – see their jewelry, beads and flowers"

[…] Julie Caniglia wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptEventually my journey in dance brought me to Spain, and more specifically Jerez, the home of true, gitano flamenco. When I began performing, I needed a hair flower to coordinate with my costume. … Read the rest of this great post here Posted in Uncategorized on February 6th, 2009 | […]

[…] Bead Society through becoming a member of the International Society of Glass Beadmakers, or how FlowersByFarha’s work is inspired by her experiences along arab trade routes and her life in […]

Leave a Reply

This is the official blog of Silkfair.com - we're a rapidly growing platform where crafters, vintage and retro fans, and eco-conscious buyers come together to trade... just like the Silk Road, but online!

We love our community because of how close-knit and respectful it is of each other - and this blog is our way of highlighting them and their successes as a way of sharing in the joy. Join us!

 Subscribe in a reader

Visit Silkfair Today
Ikeasaurus

Great Articles from Around the Web

Mom Spark

Mom Spark
Silkfair makes buying and selling items online easier and fun.

The amazing products our community makes and sells

More Photos
